The IEEE CSC Van Duzer Prize


The IEEE Council on Superconductivity sponsors the Van Duzer Prize, awarded to the best contributed paper published in the IEEE Transactions on Applied Superconductivity (TAS) during each volume year.

The award is restricted to regular submissions to the IEEE Transactions on Applied Superconductivity (TAS) to encourage authors to prepare well written and comprehensive contributions which may have exceptional archival values and are likely to be cited frequently by other authors. Papers submitted for publication through scientific conference special issues are not eligible.

Papers are scored on the following criteria:

  1. Expectation that the paper will be highly cited by future authors.
  2. Technical excellence of the work described.
  3. Completeness of the paper as an archival record of a finished body of research.

The recipients of this Prize will be announced at the Applied Superconductivity conference following the year in which the paper appeared.

The award is named in honor of Professor Theodore Van Duzer, founding Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Applied Superconductivity (TAS). Professor Van Duzer (M’60-SM’75-F’77-LF’93) received the Ph. D. degree from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1960 and has been on the faculty of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences, University of California, Berkeley, since 1961.

For additional information about this Prize, please visit the IEEE CSC website at:

The Van Duzer Prize consists of a certificate and an honorarium of U.S. $1,000, funded by the Council on Superconductivity. For papers with multiple authors, the honorarium will be divided equally among the authors.

The recipients of the 2016 IEEE Council on Superconductivity Van Duzer Prize

Maxwell T. Dylla, Samuel E. Schultz, and Matthew C. Jewell

for their paper:

“Fracture Strength Distribution of Individual Nb3Sn Filaments”
IEEE Transactions on Applied Superconductivity, Vol. 26, No. 8, December 2016, 6001907

The recipients of the 2017 IEEE Council on Superconductivity Van Duzer Prize

Jay M. Gambetta, Conal E. Murray, Y.-K.-K. Fung, Douglas T. McClure, Oliver Dial, William Shanks, Jeffrey W. Sleight, and Matthias Steffen

for their paper:

“Investigating Surface Loss Effects in Superconducting Transmon Qubits”
IEEE Transactions on Applied Superconductivity, Vol. 27, No. 1, January 2017, 1700205