IEEE CSC Graduate Study Fellowship in Applied Superconductivity

The IEEE Council on Superconductivity Graduate Study Fellowship in Applied Superconductivity is awarded annually to full-time graduate students pursuing a PhD (or equivalent) degree in the area of applied superconductivity, at an accredited college or university of recognized standing worldwide. The intention of the award is to encourage students to enter and contribute to the field of applied superconductivity.

To be eligible, the recipient must be pursuing full-time graduate work at an accredited college/university and pursuing, or planning to pursue, research activities in applied superconductivity. The applicant must have majored in engineering, materials, chemistry, physics or a related area and have received a Bachelor’s Degree or equivalent from an accredited college/university of recognized standing worldwide. Applicants must submit certified transcripts from all colleges/universities attended and three letters of recommendation from college/university professors familiar with the applicant’s work. Fellowship recipients will be selected based upon the quality of their prior work, the impact of their current research or the impact of their potential research in superconductivity, and their financial need. An effort will be made to distribute the Fellowships equally across the electronics, materials and large-scale areas of superconductivity. The CSC Graduate Fellowship in Applied Superconductivity can be awarded to an individual no more than two times.

For additional information about the CSC Graduate Study Fellowships, please visit the IEEE CSC website at:

The recipient of an IEEE CSC Graduate Study Fellowship in Applied Superconductivity will receive an honorarium of U.S. $5,000 and a suitably inscribed certificate. The recipient will also receive a one-year complimentary membership in IEEE and in one of the Council’s member Societies. A maximum of six (6) Fellowships may be presented during a given calendar year, provided suitably qualified candidates are identified.

  2018 recipients of IEEE CSC Graduate Study Fellowships 2017 recipients of IEEE CSC Graduate Study Fellowships
  Naveen Kumar Katam
University of Southern California
Clinton Bockstiegel
University of California, Santa Barbara
  Geon Seok Lee
Yonsei University
Christine Annette Donnelly
Stanford University
  Simon Otten
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Meysam Heydari Gharahcheshmeh
University of Houston
  Boyang Shen
University of Cambridge
Michal Maciejewski
Lodz University of Technology
  Daikang Yan
Northwestern University
Federico Scurti
North Carolina State University
  Andrea Zappatore
Politecnico di Torino
Shengnan Zou
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology