Cryogenic Society of America Roger W. Boom Award

The Roger W. Boom Award is named in honor of the late emeritus professor from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Dr. Boom’s career spanned more than thirty years during which he motivated a large number of young scientists and engineers to pursue careers in cryogenic engineering and applied superconductivity.

Selection Criteria
Candidates for the Roger W. Boom Award must be, at the time of application, under 40 years of age and permanently employed by US industry, government laboratories or universities. The particular area of expertise of the candidate is not a criterion, but industrial experience is desirable.

Selection Committee
Applicants were judged by the selection committee, which consists of individuals familiar with Dr. Boom’s career. The committee is presently chaired by Dr. Christopher Rey, who previously received the Boom Award.

The Roger W. Boom Award consists of a U.S. $2,000 check, a plaque, and a one-year complimentary membership in CSA.

Previous Roger W. Boom Awardees
Dr. Christopher M. Rey – Dupont Superconductivity (now at Energy to Power Solutions (E2P))
Prof. Justin Schwartz, NHMFL – Florida State University (now at North Carolina State University)
Dr. Chao Wang – Cryomech, Inc.
Dr. Franz J. Baudenbacher – Vanderbilt University
Dr. Terry L. Grimm, NSCL – Michigan State University (now at Niowave, Inc.)
Dr. Jeffrey Parrell – Oxford Instruments Superconductivity
Prof. Gregory Nellis – University of Wisconsin-Madison
Prof. Philippe Masson – University of Houston, Texas Center for Superconductivity
Dr. Joel Ullom – National Institute of Standards and Technology-Boulder
Dr. Danko van der Laan – Advanced Conductor Technologies LLC, Boulder
Dr. Luisa Chiesa, Tufts University

The 2018 Recipient of the CSA Roger W. Boom Award

Prof. Jacob Leachman
Washington State University
Pullman, WA

The Roger W. Boom Award is given to Prof. Jacob Leachman for his research on the cryogenic properties of both hydrogen and materials exposed to hydrogen for airborne and space-based applications. In addition, Prof. Leachman has established a cryogenic engineering laboratory dedicated to the study of cryogenic hydrogen for energy related applications for both undergraduate and graduate studies, and continues to educate and mentor young research engineers.

For information about CSA Awards, please visit the Cryogenic Society of America (CSA) website.