Cryogenic Society of America Roger W. Boom Award


The Roger W. Boom Award is named in honor of the emeritus professor from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Dr. Boom’s career spanned more than thirty years during which he motivated a large number of young scientists and engineers to pursue careers in cryogenic engineering and applied superconductivity.

Selection Criteria
Candidates for the Roger W. Boom Award must be, at the time of application, under 40 years of age and permanently employed by US industry, government laboratories or universities. The particular area of expertise of the candidate is not a criterion, but industrial experience is desirable.

Selection Committee
Applicants will be judged by the selection committee, which consists of individuals familiar with Dr. Boom’s career. The committee is presently chaired by Dr. Terry Grimm, who previously received the Boom Award. The CSA Board of Technical Directors will make the final determination of the award.

The Roger W. Boom Award consists of a U.S. $2,000 check, a plaque, and a one-year complimentary membership in CSA.

Previous Roger W. Boom Awardees

Dr. Christopher M. Rey – Dupont Superconductivity (now at Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
Prof. Justin Schwartz, NHMFL – Florida State University (now at North Carolina State University)
Dr. Chao Wang – Cryomech, Inc.
Dr. Franz J. Baudenbacher – Vanderbilt University
Dr. Terry L. Grimm, NSCL – Michigan State University (now at Niowave, Inc.)
Dr. Jeffrey Parrell – Oxford Instruments Superconductivity
Prof. Gregory Nellis – University of Wisconsin-Madison
Prof. Philippe Masson – University of Houston, Texas Center for Superconductivity
Dr. Joel Ullom – National Institute of Standards and Technology-Boulder

Nomination Process
Nominations for the 2014 Roger W. Boom Award are now closed.

The 2014 Roger W. Boom Awardee is:

Dr. Danko van der Laan
President and CEO
Advanced Conductor Technologies LLC
Boulder, Colorado

Danko van der Laan

The Roger W. Boom Award is given to Dr. Danko van der Laan for his mix of strengths that are expected to make him one of the key leaders of Applied Superconductivity of his generation. An independent thinker, his fundamental work resulted in a highly practical outcome in the Conductor-on-Round-Core (CORC) cable implantation of a coated conductor, which technology he then moved to an industrial scale at his own company, Advanced Conductor Technologies, developing cables for high-field magnets and high-density power transmission. These CORC conductors are expected to be of major importance for future large scale superconducting magnet systems.

For information about the Boom Award, please visit the Cryogenic Society of America (CSA) website.